SUGGESTED HERITAGE TRIPS
CREATE YOUR ITINERARY
Receive Email Updates
Enter your email address to receive heritage updates
All Attractions in Region
The Anasazi Heritage Center, a museum devoted to the cultures of the Four Corners region, is your portal to another time explorable in exquisite detail. Through microscopes, focus on an ancient kernal of corn on a fragment of yucca sandal. Feel the finger indentations on corrugated pottery, or carefully match tree rings to date an old wooden beam. The Center is also known for its beautiful rotating exhibits that weave different cultural threads in one vivid tapestry. You can visit two archaeological sites on the Museum grounds.
Board a mine train called a "trammer" on the Bachelor-Syracuse Mine Tour and travel 1,800 feet horizontally into Gold Hill, rich in gold, silver, and other precious metals. Guests are at all times accompanied by a thoroughly trained guide who has first-hand experience working the mine. The guides are prepared to answer questions and eager to share the legend and lore of the mine.
The 1905 building is the only remaining evidence of the town's successfully orchestrated effort to defy the Rio Grande Southern Railroad by constructing substantial commercial buildings southeast of the railroad's siding. It is the oldest surviving commercial masonry building in the Mancos Valley, and the only historic commercial building left in town that employs the once popular combination of sandstone and brick.
Constructed in 1889, the property is associated with the early settlement of Mancos and was the residence of George Bauer, a pioneer merchant and banker, who occupied the house until his death in 1905. He was also a stone mason and assisted in the construction. In 1881, Bauer established the first store in Mancos.
Constructed in 1882, the Bedrock Store played an important role in the commercial history of the Paradox Valley. In the 1800s, it served the local ranching community as a general merchandise store and U.S. Post Office. As the only store within thirty miles, during the 1900s it also served those associated with local mining. The first floor walls are of uncoursed native stone, and the upper floor is faced with wood. A somewhat elaborate peaked cornice tops the facade.
The Black Canyon of the Gunnison's unique and spectacular landscape was formed slowly by the action of water and rock scouring down through hard Proterozoic crystalline rock. No other canyon in North America combines the narrow opening, sheer walls and startling depth offered by the Black Canyon of the Gunnison.
Canyons of the Ancients is a fragile checkerboard of ancient sites scattered across 164,000 acres of high desert in the southwest corner of Colorado. This area was the epicenter of Ancestral Puebloan communities. This enormous monument is a difficult place to navigate and there are just a few areas ready for the public to explore. It is an area to discover on your own, if you are prepared for an adventure of a lifetime.
This 1911 property is an interesting and unusual example of stone construction. An on-site sandstone formation serves as the main cabin's south wall. A small stone guest cabin is located to the east. The cabin is most noted for its secret room behind the hinged bookcase.
Open mid-May to the end of September, Chimney Rock explores the history of the ancestral Puebloan Indians who lived in this area over 1000 years ago. Visit various site ruins and explore the legends of this astro-archeological site. You can also enjoy full moon programs, festivals and special events during the season.
Center for the Arts Crested Butte is home to popular signature events and a wide variety of indoor and outdoor attractions. Visitors young and old enjoy a year-round schedule of live music, dance and theater performances as well as art exhibits, speakers and much more.
Walk through an exciting part of America's past while enjoying the architectural character of Crested Butte. Born out of the gold and silver booms of the last 1800's, Crested Butte was and is a workingman's town. In 1974, the town was designated a National Historic District, Colorado's largest.
The Mountain Bike Hall of Fame and Museum houses items of memorabilia, including vintage bikes, components, classic photos, press clippings and highlights from historic races and events.
The Museum is home to a number of exhibits with something to interest almost anyone. The front of the building, which served as a hardware store from 1883-1996, features all the original cases filled with a sampling of the merchandise sold in the building historically. The rear of the building, originally a 1930's working garage, houses exhibits including a functioning model railroad, a life sized mining diorama, one of Crested Buttes original gondolas, and sections on domestic life in Crested Butte. The Museum also houses the Mountain Bike Hall of Fame.
Crested Butte Mountain Theatre was established in 1972 by a group of talented local residents with a vision for live theatre involving members of the community. The first production, Dark of the Moon, was performed on an outdoor stage with the iconic silhouette of Crested Butte Mountain in the background. This was the catalyst for future plays to be performed in venues as diverse as a living room, a bed and breakfast, the streets of Crested Butte, and even a town shuttle bus.
This stately brick house was built by E.L. Davis in 1894. Davis was a mining and real estate entrepreneur, owner of the Mayflower, Nellie, and Etta Gold mines in the Ingram-Bridal Veil Basin and Bear Creek area. He owned all the land where the Rio Grande Southern Train Depot stands, as well as one-third interest in West Telluride. Davis sought to bring business to the town as vice president of the Telluride Board of Trade. After Davis' death, the house was sold to Dr. Oshner, who used it as a hospital, particularly during the 1918 flu epidemic. The house was renovated in 1983.
Built in 1892, the former bank currently houses the Delta Area Chamber of Commerce & Visitor Center. Construction of the Delta County Bank marked the first instance in Delta of the Victorian Romanesque architectural style.
The Delta County Historical Museum is the place to go if you are searching for treasures from Delta County and around the world. Here you can see many items of interest from Delta County's pioneer days, such as housewares, toys, clothing and early farming and ranch utensils. Some interesting highlights include the Leslie J. Savage Bell collection, the butterfly display, and a unique collection of prehistoric dinosaur bones.
Built in 1889, the Delta House was the first hotel in Delta and was used in those early days as a place for traveling salesmen to display their dry goods. Throughout the years, notables who came to town stayed at the Delta House: governors, senators, politicians and show people performing at the Opera House next door. The Delta House "kept up with the times" enjoyed a reputation for its modern rooms and fine dining. The former hotel is currently an assisted living facility.
This 1911 building is associated with the nationwide Carnegie public library movement and the efforts of the Women's Club of Delta to erect a library. It is also architecturally significant as a good example of Neo-Classicism and is the only example of this style in Delta. Architect G.R. Felmlee designed the original building. A sensitively designed addition in 1984 was the work of Dona, Larson, Roubal and Associates.
"All Aboard" on the Narrow Gauge Railroad to take a trip to the past. Experience the adventure of traveling by a steam-powered, coal-fired locomotive on the same tracks miners and settlers of the Old West took over a century ago. Wind through spectacular and breathtaking canyons in the remote wilderness of the San Juan National Forest for an unforgettable year-round adventure.
J. Walter Ertel purchased the Ames and Omo Funeral Homes in Mancos, Cortez, and Dolores in 1921. In 1933 he consolidated the three funeral homes in an old two-story frame building located on the site of the current building. Mr. Ertel began building the present building in 1935 and on January 26, 1936 the Ertels and the Cortez community celebrated the opening of the new facility.
The Escalante Ruin was first investigated in 1776 by the Dominguez-Escalante Expedition looking for a northern route from the New Mexico missions to the ones at Monterey, California. The ruin consists of a partially excavated multi-storied masonry pueblo with at least 20 rooms and a kiva. Located on the grounds of the Anasazi Heritage Center, a one-half mile long, paved, uphill, wheelchair-accessible trail provides an excellent view of the pueblo. Signs along the trail illuminate history and the local environment.
The 1906 Fairlamb House is one of the few surviving examples of the Foursquare style in Delta. It is of classic Four Square architectural style construction with post Victorian Arts & Crafts design elements. The house was built of Delta Brick from the Delta Brick and Tile Company. It was the first house in the area built by workers on an "eight-hour-work day". Currently the house operates as a bed and breakfast.
The First Presbyterian Church of Eckert is an excellent example of the Craftsman style as applied to ecclesiastical architecture. Constructed in two stages between the years 1915-1921, the building exhibits many elements of the style, including a stone exterior, triangular braces, exposed rafters and truss work. Few Colorado churches utilized the Craftsman style.
This unique, recreated fur trading post offers a vivid glimpse into the feeling and experience of living on the western frontier of 1828. Take a tour of a small community next door to Confluence Park where interpretive tours give you a better experience and a blast from the past.
Visit the home of Fred Harman, creator of the Red Ryder & Little Beaver syndicated comic strips and one of the founding members of the Cowboy Artists of America. The museum houses Red Ryder and Little Beaver comic strips, over 50 original pieces of art, western, rodeo and movie memorabilia as well as local heritage lifestyle collectibles.
This gasoline-powered narrow gauge railroad car, constructed in 1933, provided the Rio Grande Southern Railroad with a cost saving alternative to the more expensive steam locomotive passenger trains and allowed the company to continue operating in the San Juan Mountains until 1952.
Housed in a replica of the original Delores depot, the museum is dedicated to telling the interconnected story of the town and the Rio Grande Southern Railroad and features exhibits on the Galloping Goose rail cars. Built in 1928, the Galloping Goose was a hybrid between a car and a bus running on railroad tracks.
The Gunnison Arts Center invites you to experience the Arts in the Gunnison Valley! Located in the historic 1882 Denver & Rio Grande Railway Express Depot and European Hotel, the building underwent extensive renovations to house the arts center. Today at the Gunnison Arts Center you will find two exhibition galleries, a gallery shop, theatre, dance studio, visual arts classrooms and more!
Gunnison-Crested Butte is Colorado Pure & Simple... Friendly mountain communities that are packaged by nature and combine western heritage with turn of the century Victorian mining towns. We invite you to enjoy our heritage driving tour! Along the way you will experience incredible vistas, meet friendly locals and see that our county is steeped in rich Western and Victorian mining era history. The tour self guides you to interesting sites throughout the county.
Explore the "Old West" flavor of Gunnison, one of the oldest municipalities on the Western Slope, through a historic walking tour. During this self-guided tour, visitors will be taken to over 30 residential and commercial sites.
Discover the history of the people and heritage of Gunnison at the Gunnison Pioneer Museum. The museum grounds consist of 16 buildings, 12 of which are historic, including an 1876 Gunnison Post Office and a 1905 rural school house. Among the artifacts and memorabilia are a Denver & Rio Grande narrow gauge train, Engine #268 and over 60 antique cars.
Backed by President Theodore Roosevelt, the Gunnison Tunnel is among the first five irrigation projects built by the newly established Bureau of Reclamation. The foundations of the town of East Portal, built to house the workers and families involved in the tunnel construction, still cling to the canyon slopes down at the Gunnison River. Daring in concept and imaginative in its creation the tunnel is listed as a Civil Engineering Landmark on the National Register of Historic Places. Ranger guided programs are available in summer. Interpretive signs also describe the tunnel buildings and old town site.
Remote and starkly beautiful, Hovenweep preserves a brief chapter of Ancestral Puebloan history. Sage covers the plains to hide 20 square miles of farms and fields cultivated by early inhabitants; rubble and rock falls now disguise much of their first homes. Surviving though are six groupings of multi-storied towers, dating from the mid-thirteenth century. They stand like sentries on canyon rims guarding precious spring water. The visitors center provides seasonal interpretive programs and serves as the base to hike the two mile self guided trail to the Seven Towers Group
This white Victorian was bought by L.L. Nunn for his Telluride Institute, where "pinheads" from Cornell University came to expand their knowledge of the production of power. Today, Cornell University has a "Telluride House" funded by Nunn's estate. Next door, on the corner of Columbia and Aspen Street is the house Nunn lived in, which was built in 1887 and remodeled extensively in 1980.
The Lebanon Schoolhouse was built in 1907 in the Greek Revival style. Today, it has been restored and brought to life again as a cozy B&B. While the historic character of the facility has been preserved, visitors will find every amenity at their fingertips.
Associated with the exploration and settlement of the Cedaredge area, the property includes a small pioneer log cabin which served as the first residence in the community. Built in 1891, the Lovett House is the longest continually occupied residence in Cedaredge and also served as the location of the community's first post office.
Enjoy a self-guided interpretive tour of the Lowry Pueblo archaeological site. Lowry Pueblo is a part of Canyons of the Ancients National Park and was once home to approximately 100 people. Lowry Pueblo had a total of about 40 rooms and 8 kivas at its peak in the early 11th century, and was arranged in a roughly rectangular block, with some portions reaching as high as three stories. A great kiva, constructed outside the eastern limits of the village, is nearly 50 feet in diameter.
The 1909 two-story sandstone building was the first high school constructed in Montezuma County. The building was not only an important educational facility, it was also used as a community meeting place after the gymnasium/auditorium was built in 1920. The building is noted for its distinctive design and the fine workmanship of the locally quarried stone.
Completed in 1910, this red brick building with cast concrete trim was the center of widespread community activity in Mancos and drew people from neighboring towns. Designed in the early 20th century Commercial style, it is one of the largest commercial buildings in Mancos and Montezuma County. Although it has the appearance of a three story building on the exterior, the large second floor has a high ceiling designed to accommodate a wide variety of social and recreational activities, from dances and sporting events to stage productions.
The West once had hundreds of precious metal mills. Now, most are in various stages of ruin. One important exception is the Mayflower Mill, (or the Shenandoah - Dives Mill) located two miles northeast of Silverton. A National Historic Landmark, this wonderful piece of American mining history is open to the public. Witness first hand how the miners were able to extract gold, silver and base metals from the hard rock ores in this complete mill which processed gold, silver, lead, zinc and copper.
The core administrative buildings at Mesa Verde--the superintendent's residence (1921), park headquarters building (1923), post office (1923), ranger club (1925), museum (1923-4), and community building (1927)--are the first National Park Service structures to experiment with architectural designs based in strong local cultural traditions. The buildings are excellent examples of the Pueblo Revival style, in this instance modified to reflect and enhance the interpretation of the prehistoric structures of the surrounding area.
Mesa Verde National Park is truly America's premier archaeological wonder. National Geographic Traveler named Mesa Verde as one of the fifty "must-see" places of a lifetime, and it's easy to see why. America's first World Heritage Site, the park tells the story of a civilization's dynamic growth over 700 years.
Designed by Colorado Springs architect Thomas P. Barber, the large brick building is a good local example of the Romanesque Revival style. Much of the Akron Plan interior remains intact, and a mix of religious and secular stained glass windows are found throughout the building.
Offering breathtaking mountain, valley and gorge views, the Million Dollar Highway cost a reported million dollars a mile to build. Traveling over Hwy US 550 between Ouray and Silverton, Colorado, the road winds and clings to the mountain providing dramatic view at every turn. The road was incredibly engineered by Otto Mears, indomitable road builder and railroad builder of the early west, and was first operated as a toll road. Today it is surely one of the most breath-taking, historic and amazing roads in our country.
The 1908 sandstone building is the oldest existing bank building in Cortez. It was the town's first and only banking institution until 1957. Incorporating Classical Revival elements, the building is representative of turn-of-the-century commercial construction.
The two-story Art Deco style building includes a mix of yellow and red brick in its patterned walls. At the time of its construction in 1926, it was designed to also house the city's library.
In the former Denver & Rio Grande Train Depot at the corner of Main and Rio Grande, the museum focuses on early day pioneer life. There are buggies, wagons, farm implements and a completely furnished homesteader's cabin. The inside houses a country store, railroad memorabilia, a children's corner, Indian artifacts, musical instruments, handiwork, clothing and more.
The 1931 building is an excellent example of Renaissance Revival styling. Rigidly symmetrical, the structure has a massive appearance.
Experience what it was like to live in western Colorado in the 1880's to the 1930's. View 500,000 artifacts from the mountain west displayed in store and office displays circa 1880-1930. Carefully restored historical buildings including a livery, gun shop, one-room schoolhouse, teacherage and church located on the museum grounds add to the experience.
This Telluride landmark was built in 1895. For fine dining, the Continental Room had 16 velvet-curtained booths, each equipped with phones so diners could call for service and not be interrupted frequently by waiters. The Sheridan Bar remains much the same with its cherry wood bar imported from Austria. William Jennings Bryan delivered a speech, though not his famous "Cross of Gold," on a platform in front of the Sheridan. The Opera House, an exquisite theater with a Venetian scene painted on its roll curtain by J. Erickson, was added in 1914.
Built in 1900, this house was a survivor of the 1914 flood. A spring cloudburst caused the usually gentle Cornet Creek to turn into a torrent of mud and rocks that swept through town, depositing five feet of mud and debris from the Liberty Bell Mine to Colorado Avenue. One woman was killed, and the Sheridan Bar was filled with mud halfway to the ceiling. This house has been completely restored to its original condition, enabling it to be on the National Register of Historic Homes.
Charles Waggoner, president of the Bank of Telluride, contrived a scheme purportedly to save his bank in the Wall Street Crash of 1929. By siphoning money from New York banks, he possibly kept most Telluride depositors in the black. Waggoner testified in court, "I would rather see the New York banks lose money than the people of Telluride, most of whom have worked all their lives for the savings that were deposited in my bank." Waggoner was sentenced to 15 years in prison but was paroled after six years. He never returned to Telluride.
Experience the life of Ouray miners and ranchers at the former Miners' Hospital. View the museum's 27 rooms of exhibits displaying mining history, gem and mineral collections, transportation history, a simulated mine and many more exhibits about early life in Ouray County.
Ouray's Hot Springs Pool is a 150' x 280' pool fed by natural hot springs that provide water, most of which comes out of the ground at about 150 degrees, but cooled to a pleasant bathing temperature. Open year-round, the pool brings welcome relief to tired muscles after a day of hiking, skiing, or ice climbing. During the summer, two new slides at the pool add to the kid-friendly atmosphere on one section, but other areas give adults plenty of solitude, mountain views, and relaxing, soothing mineral waters.
Travel back in time, with a visit to Pioneer Town in quaint Cedaredge, Colorado. As you walk along the wooden sidewalks of Pioneer Town's Main Street, you can visit the Coalby General Store, the print shop, the saloon, the States mining museum, the Girling Mercantile, the bank, the marshal's office, the jail house, the Wells Fargo office, and the barber shop which also doubled as a dental office.
The Senate, Silver Bell, Cribs make up the restored buildings of the "sporting district". The Senate was one of the many "female boarding houses" that was bustling with business between the 1880's and 1930's. The Silver Bell, built in 1890, operated as one of Telluride's many "Soda Parlours" during Prohibition, and its numerous entrances hint at the other services offered there. The three small Victorian houses standing in a row on Pacific Street, known as the Cribs, are all that remain of similar structures that lined both sides of the street all the way to Telluride Town Park.
Ridgway, Colorado, long known as the birthplace of the Rio Grande Southern Railroad, is the home of a museum dedicated to the preservation of the history of railroading in Ouray County and surrounding areas.
Once one of Telluride's oldest bars, this building contains a period piece downstairs an 1860 Brunswick-Balke-Collener Company bar of carved walnut, with exquisite 12-foot French mirrors on the back bar. The Roma was one of the wildest and most raucous saloons in town. It was renovated in 1983, and again in 2006 to become a Pan-Asian restaurant called Honga's Lotus Petal.
Delve into a fascinating museum on the restored Silverton Durango Railroad with exhibits featuring mining and railroad history. Situated within the old San Juan County jail which was built in 1902, this museum exhibits items and collections donated to the Society, including a collection of Otto Mears Silver Railroad passes, an extensive local mineral collection, early day mining and surveying equipment, a Derringer handgun collection, and a fully equipped turn-of-the-century kitchen. Upstairs in the museum are the original jail cells, complete with balls and chains.
In 1886, a courthouse was erected on the south side of West Colorado Avenue. This building burned shortly after construction, but the bricks were saved to build the present courthouse less than a year later on the opposite corner of the original site. Recently renovated, it is still used today.
Sand Canyon Pueblo is the site of an ancient Pueblo Indian village in southwestern Colorado. Occupation of the site is believed to have begun during the late A.D. The desolate site has been excavated and overgrown rubble mounds remain. Six interpretative signs along a walking trail provide information on the site and help visitors imagine the past.
This church was built in the Catholic Hill area in 1896 for $4,800. By 1899, it had 200 members. The wooden figures of the Stations of the Cross were carved in the Tyrol of Austria. In 2005, the interior of St. Patrick's was remodeled.
Based on a Sears Catalog plan for a wood frame residence, the 1911 two-story Stolte House is a good local example of ornamental concrete block construction. The blocks were molded and laid by Cedaredge mason Virgil Bouldin, while interior materials were ordered from Sears.
Constructed in 1916 and 1917, the three stacked lumber silos were built by Robert James, an early settler in the Surface Creek Valley. James was recognized locally for his carpentry skills and built the silos for the Stockham Brothers, owners and operators of the Bar I Ranch.
The building itself was built in 1896 by Dr. Hall and served as a hospital for the miners, townspeople and county poor. It was renovated in 2002. An amazing collection of photographs and artifacts reconstructs the colorful days of Telluride's mining past.
In Lone Tree Cemetery, glimpse the perils of Telluride's mining-boom era when avalanches, flu epidemics, mining accidents and labor strikes took many lives.
This stone jail is thought to have been built in 1885 and was once occupied by the public library. The community's first jail, a wooden structure, was built in 1878 and is now located in Telluride Town Park.
Patrons were treated to music, food, wine and ladies in this "parlour house" in Telluride's red light district.
On the corner of Fir Street and Columbia Avenue is Telluride's first schoolhouse. This one-room building was built in 1883 for the sum of $3,000. The first class held there had 53 students and one teacher. After a new school was built, the town offices occupied the building. The tower for drying fire hoses was added at that time.
On the Southside of W. Pacific Ave. is Finn Town Flats (originally a boardinghouse), Finn Hall and the smaller Swede Finn Hall (now the Elks Lodge). The two halls were the center of social life for Finnish immigrants. During parties and gatherings, each family brought food, a band played and people danced and socialized.
This area was bustling, noisy and exciting after the railroad reached Telluride in 1891. The depot was surrounded by boardinghouses and warehouses, some of which are still standing on San Juan Avenue. In 1991, the depot was renovated. Today, it is home to Telluride's Ah Haa School for the Arts.
By most accounts, Butch Cassidy was a minor player in this, his first bank robbery of San Miguel Valley Bank in 1889. The old bank burned and was replaced by the Mahr Building in 1892.
Opened in 1928 and still in use today, the Egyptian Theatre is the only example of Second Egyptian Revival Architecture in Delta. Designed by Montana Falls, who designed the Mayan Theatre in Denver, the Egyptian Theatre is one of only six Second Egyptian Revival theatres left in the U.S. During the Depression the theatre manager and seven local businessmen created the promotional "Bank Night" where gold, groceries and cash give-a-ways were held for moviegoers. It proved so successful that it was patented and sold to over 2,000 theatres in the U.S. which helped some survive through the depression.
This is one of Telluride's oldest main-street buildings. Mr. Pekkarine immigrated to the U.S. from Finland and opened a boot shop in the basement. On the second floor, he later operated a mercantile store. The Pekkarines lived on the third floor. At the settling of the Pekkarine estate in 1974, valued turn-of-the-century artifacts were donated to the Telluride Historical Museum.
Constructed in 1893, with a 1902 addition, the Rio Grande Southern Hotel is the oldest building in Dolores and currently operates as a bed and breakfast.
The Town of Crested Butte is one of Colorado's larger Registered National Historic Districts. Many of the buildings in Crested Butte are the original structures from the bustling mining days of the late 1880s. Pick up a free self guided walking tour brochure available at the Crested Butte Heritage Museum and explore the town on your own or schedule a guided tour through the museum.
Trail of the Ancients Historic Byway highlights the long and intriguing occupation of the Four Corners region by Native American peoples. The 114 mile route takes visitors across the terrain of the Anasazi and Navajo and includes Mesa Verde National Park and Howenweep National Monument.
Opened in 1954, this still operating drive-in movie theater is a rare surviving example of this particular type of entertainment venue. Of the 81 drive-in theaters constructed in Colorado between 1947 and 1976, only 12 remained in operation as of 1999. The Tru-Vu has undergone few modifications and retains a high degree of integrity.
This huge, majestic cottonwood dates back to 1802 and is a Colorado landmark. It is dedicated to Chief Ouray and his wife, Chipeta, who strove to keep peace between the Utes and the White Man. Chief Ouray met with White settlers under this very tree. His wife is believed to be the only Ute woman ever allowed to sit in on council meetings.
For over 500 years the Ute people lived in the mountains and valleys of Western Colorado. The Ute Indian Museum offers exhibits and programs on the culture of these "People of the Shining Mountains" and their most famous leaders.
For an "off-the-beaten-track" experience, take a tour of the Ute Mountain Tribal Park on the southern border of Mesa Verde with a Native American Ute guide. To preserve the Ancestral Puebloan architecture, the area was set aside by the Ute Mountain Utes and is accessible to the public only through guided tours. Ute guides interpret the history, dwellings and centuries old rock art decorating the canyon walls.
One can't enjoy Ouray to the fullest without taking the historic walking tour. Beginning and ending at the Ouray County Museum, 420 6th Ave., you will see beautiful Victorian homes, two churches, public buildings, and numerous historic business properties, including the incomparable Beaumont Hotel, restored to its original grandeur. The tour can be done by walking or driving following the "Walking Tour of Ouray" pamphlet available at the Museum, Ouray Visitor's Center or online. More detailed information and other books on Ouray history are available at the local book stores or at the Museum.
The Opera House, with its decorative iron front structural style and cast iron piers supporting the pressed metal front of the second floor, was a source of great civic pride. Shows varied from piano and organ duets to birthday parties to theater productions and public speakers. In addition, the nearby Bon Ton and Beaumont restaurants, current Ouray landmarks, made dinner theater a popular evening activity.